Box set: The Motown 7s Box (vinyl)
Release date: 25 November 2013
Label: Universal

UMC are proud to present THE MOTOWN 7s BOX – a collection of 14 rare and previously unreleased on vinyl gems, with all tracks lovingly restored from the original Hitsville master tapes.

Containing 14 rare and previously unreleased tracks, largely never available on vinyl before, demand is expected to outstrip supply for an item that will be treasured by Motown lovers all across the globe.

The compiler - original Wigan Casino DJ Richard Searling - has this to say about the forthcoming set: "Of all the many compilation projects I have initiated over the past 30 years, this one gives me more pleasure than any. As these previously unheard Motown delicacies were being found in the vaults over the last decade, they have all made it onto CD, but for collectors like myself, Motown means vinyl, and to be able to hear and see these brilliant recordings spinning around on our turntables now will be fantastic! I've put together the selections with loving attention, aimed to capture the up tempo Northern Soul sounds, and the more delicate late 60s / early 70s crossover sound of Young America that is also so popular. As for the artists, well how could I fail, it was like being a young kid allowed in the candy store...we have the sensual soul of David Ruffin, Stevie Wonder, the Four Tops and The Supremes...the dance floor dynamite of The Originals, Chris Clark, The Temptations, the magnificence of The Isley Brothers, and let's not forget that we also have a legal reissue of the £25000 valued Frank Wilson 45, Do I Love You. Also included are in-demanders from Barbara McNair, The Detroit Spinners, Marvin Gaye, Tammi Terrell and Kim Weston. Universal Music have commissioned an authentic 60s feel to present the beautiful box set collection superbly, and as the pressing is limited to only 2200, it will not be around very long and is certain to become a treasured collectors item”.

Track list

Marvin Gaye - This Love Starved Heart (It's Killing Me)
The Spinners - What More Could A Boy Ask For

Frank Wilson - Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)
The Originals - Suspicion

The Supremes - Stormy
Stevie Wonder - Just Enough To Ease The Pain

The Four Tops - Clip My Wings
Tammi Terrell - All I Do (Is Think About You)

Barbara McNair - It Happens Everytime
David Ruffin - I Can't Be Hurt Anymore

The Temptations - Forever In My Heart
Kim Weston - You Hit Me Where It Hurt Me

Chris Clark - Something's Wrong
The Isley Brothers - My Love Is Your Love (Forever) 

More information

If you would like some more information about this release, or would like to contact us about interview opportunities / review copies, just contact us via our press enquiries form.

Subscribe to our press releases

You can click here to subscribe to our press releases - we'll send you a weekly digest of all our latest releases.