Single release: 'Everyone You Know'  by Underwater Boys
Release date: Out now
Label: Cannibal Hymns
More info: Band website

Underwater Boys today stream their debut single - the hazy psych-pop rush of 'Everyone You Know'. The forthcoming debut 7" from the band also features an equally strong B-side in "Bye & Bye" and will be released via the influential imprint Cannibal Hymns, who have also put out recent releases by Our Girl, Dream Wife, Theo Verney, EAT FAST and more. Stream 'Everyone You Know' here.

Underwater Boys is the very fine work of Tom & Nick Klar - two brothers who make dreamy, fuzzy pop music in Brighton. Drawing influence from Cocteau Twins, Beach House, The Cure and Tame Impala, their sound is characterised by Tom's sweet, otherworldly falsetto, and multi-instrumentalist Nick's woozy, ethereal soundscapes.

While on the surface an Underwater Boys song might sound bright and blissed out, their music is also bubbling with anxiety and tension, with lyrical themes of mental illness, existential dread and malaise. This dichotomy is at the heart of what Underwater Boys do. It is joyful, celebratory music about battling with the darkest parts of yourself - being vulnerable, and trying to get better.

As well as releasing their debut single, the band have also announced a selection of early shows:

  • September 13th - The Lexington, London w/Our Girl
  • September 20th - Hope & Ruin, Brighton w/Estrons
  • September 30th - Heartbreakers, Southampton w/Palm Honey
  • October 11th - Sebright Arms, London, Headline (Tickets)


More information

If you would like some more information about this release, or would like to contact us about interview opportunities / review copies, just contact us via our press enquiries form.

Subscribe to our press releases

You can click here to subscribe to our press releases - we'll send you a weekly digest of all our latest releases.