Album release:  'Compulsion Songs'  by The Lucid Dream
Release date: 23 September 2016
Label: Holy You Are Recordings
More info: Band website

Compulsion  Songs  is  the  3rd  album  from  Carlisle's The  Lucid  Dream.  Rather  than  bathe in  the  critical acclaim  of  their  recent  2nd  album,  The  Lucid  Dream  are  quick  out  the blocks,  venturing  into  pastures  new again,  making  no  secret  of  their  aim  to  separate themselves  from  their  peers  as  much  as  possible.  On Compulsion  Songs, pulling away from the pack is the order of the day, and the  ideas on show here reaffirm the many claims that The Lucid Dream  are one of the most important, diverse and exciting bands in the UK at present. Compulsion Songs is a demonstration of the band’s skill in binding the sounds of their broadening musical palette through their unifying songcraft.  

Recorded  at  Whitewood Studios,  Liverpool,  with  Rob  Whiteley,  the  album  is produced alongside  long-time collaborator  Ross  Halden  (Ghost  Town  Studios,  Leeds). Recent  single Bad  Texan  (the first work  from  the album  unveiled  via  12'  vinyl  in  March this  year)  sees  the  band  move  into dancefloor  meets  Krautrock.  The Krautrock/kosmiche groove  is  also  present  alongside new-wave  in  the 2-part  opus Nadir/Epitaph. 21st Century   is   quite   appropriately   the   nearest    the   band   get   to   a   protest   song,   a   2-minute   white noise/garage/rockabilly blast,  inspired  by  a  heavy  dose of  Beastie  Boys  listening.  Elsewhere,  the  bustling  of The Emptiest  Place  is  Morricone meets  60s  L.A, Stormy  Waters  bows  to  the  melodies  of The Stone Roses/The  Byrds, warping  them  with  a  sinister  twist  in  the  vein  of  Spiritualized. The  album’s showpiece however comes via the 8-minute space-dub of I'm A Star In My Own Right, as the band hit a full on Kingston, Jamaica dub/groove, set as it is to contorting, reverb-fueled passages.

Compulsion Songs follows 2015’s critically acclaimed 2nd album, which gained plaudits from Drowned  In Sound (who named the album #7 UK album of the year/#18 world album, and overall highest placed 'psych' album), Uncut, Q, Clash, Louder Than War, The Skinny, and major radio support from BBC Radio 1 (Huw Stephens), BBC Radio 2 (Huey Morgan), and BBC 6 Music (Lauren Laverne, Marc Riley (inc.  2  sessions),  Steve  Lamacq, Gideon  Coe,  Stuart Maconie,  Tom  Robinson).  'Mona Lisa', the opening  track  from  the album,  was  also included in The  Observer’s 'Critics  Favourite  Tracks  Of  2015' playlist.  The vinyl  pressing  of  the album  (750  copies)  sold  out  on  the  day  of  release,  and  was backed  by  a European  tour across  11  countries,  slots  at Indouro  Fest (Portugal), Eindhoven  Psych  Lab (Holland), and supports to Clinic and A Place To Bury Strangers.  

Compulsion   Songs   is   released   on   23rd   September   via   Holy   Are   You   Recordings   (CD/ltd   coloured vinyl/vinyl/download).

More information

If you would like some more information about this release, or would like to contact us about interview opportunities / review copies, just contact us via our press enquiries form.

Subscribe to our press releases

You can click here to subscribe to our press releases - we'll send you a weekly digest of all our latest releases.