Album release: “The Blue Musk-Oxen” by Olde World
Release date: September 1 2014
Label: Groundhog Records
Listen: on Olde World website 

Olde Worlde is the solo project of multi-instrumentalist, Sohhei Numata. Born in Machida, Tokyo, Olde Worlde releases his brand new album The Blue Musk-Oxen in the UK on September 1st. Recorded, produced and mixed by Brad Wood (The Smashing Pumpkins, Ben Lee, Sunny Day Real Estate, Tortoise) it features current single Stuck In Hibernation – which is picking up airplay across BBC 6 Music, including spins at Lauren Laverne. On The Blue Musk-Oxen, Numata plays guitar, bass, drums, ukulele, piano, keyboard and moog. 

As a precocious teenager, fixated on all kinds of musical styles from a very early age, it wasn’t long before he made himself a regular on the city’s busking circuit, absorbing the styles and skills of the city’s broad range of live talent. With much of the local music being sung in Japanese though, Namata looked to learn English from as many sources as he could, learning in person from J-Punk bands he would see live, but eventually settling on American Forces Radio as the medium to best be exposed to his adopted tongue.

Getting to grips with many a 90s US Indie Rock and Power Pop band through his radio, the traits of these come to the fore on The Blue Musk-Oxen. From former single Your Bird’s delicate lilt and simple melody, through to Stuck In Hibernation’s more fractured guitars and buoyant pace, The Blue Musk-Oxen is made a bright, sun-kissed, collection thanks to Brad Wood’s production.


  • Wishing You Well
  • Your Bird
  • Number City
  • Thinking About You
  • A Girl Across The Country
  • Lemon Cake
  • Beating
  • Stuck In Hibernation
  • Realize Poppies
  • No One’s Gonna Be
  • Good Boy
  • Be Alone

More information

If you would like some more information about this release, or would like to contact us about interview opportunities / review copies, just contact us via our press enquiries form.

Subscribe to our press releases

You can click here to subscribe to our press releases - we'll send you a weekly digest of all our latest releases.