EP release: Happyness by Happyness
Release date: 6 January 2013
Label: Weird Smiling
Listen: on Soundcloud 

“College-rock mannerisms and gently acerbic, conversational, lyrics… the sort of debut that manages to impress without evening seeming to break stride” - The Fly

“Carefree but with lyrics which tug at the heartstrings in a manner chock full of pathos and sincerity." – Clash

“Characterful dulcet tunes we want to hear from a guitar band right now” - 405

Happyness are a three-piece from South London consisting of Jonny Allan, Benji Compston and Ashley Cooper. Having self-produced their debut EP in Jelly Boy Studios, their loft, the band will be announcing their self-titled EP set for release early January 2014. In the lead up to this lo-fi 4-track offering, mixed by Ed Harcourt and mastered by Adam Lasus (Yo La Tengo, PJ Harvey, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah), Happyness have gathered friends and fans on both sides of the Atlantic. Influences are diverse and broad but bands such as Sparklehorse, Yo La Tengo and Wilco have clearly inspired. Dreamy, hook laden, with a song writing prowess far beyond their tender years – Happyness are the real deal.

To coincide with the online announcement of lead track “It’s On You”, the band will be embarking on a mini-tour of the UK throughout November. The dates are as follows:

  • November 7th-The Square, Harlow
  • November 12th- Fallow, Manchester (w/ His Clancyness)
  • November 22nd- Jericho Tavern, Oxford
  • November 25th- The Hope, Brighton
  • November 29th- Hoxton Bar and Grill, London (w/ Casual Sex)

A limited run of 500 physical copies will be available in selected record stores around the UK from November, with a digital release in January.

More information

If you would like some more information about this release, or would like to contact us about interview opportunities / review copies, just contact us via our press enquiries form.

Subscribe to our press releases

You can click here to subscribe to our press releases - we'll send you a weekly digest of all our latest releases.