Album release: Electric Eden (2 CD compilation)
Release date: 20 August 2012 
Label: Universal Music Catalogue 

Universal Music Catalogue is scheduled to release Electric Eden, a new compilation, hand-picked by author and journalist Rob Young, on August 20th 2012. The two-disc set is designed to serve as a companion to Young’s highly acclaimed book Electric Eden: Unearthing Britain’s Visionary Music which was published by Faber & Faber in 2010.

Just as the book mapped out a native British musical voice that reflected the complex relationships between town and country, progress and nostalgia, radicalism and conservatism, so too does this compilation.

It’s a veritable connoisseur’s choice of folk music which collects together such diverse artists as Archie Fisher, Meic Stevens, Bill Fay, Comus, and Mick Softley, even David Bowie - alongside the more expected names such as Bert Jansch, Richard Thompson, John Martyn, The Incredible String Band and Nick Drake.

The two disc set is divided into an Acoustic Eden and an Electric Eden and comes with comprehensive, track-by-track notes by Rob Young.

Rob Young comments: 'This compilation is designed to follow the flow from acoustic to electric folk in the late 60s and early 70s, a magical time in British music. I've tried to include a mixture of rarities, unheard versions, familiar names and unjustly neglected heroes and heroines. I'm particularly proud of including a rare original version of 'A Sailor's Life' by Fairport Convention, literally the first time a rock drum kit was ever used on a traditional folk song. History in the making!'

Track listing


1. Peter Bellamy - ‘Oak, Ash and Thorn’
2. Traffic - ‘John Barleycorn Must Die’
3. Bert Jansch - ‘The Waggoner’s Lad’
4. Fairport Convention - ‘Stranger to Himself’
5. Archie Fisher - ‘Reynardine’
6. Bread, Love and Dreams - ‘Brother John’
7. Bill Fay - ‘Garden Song’
8. Water Into Wine Band - ‘Stranger in the World’
9. Tudor Lodge - ‘Willow Tree’
10. Comus - ‘Diana’
11. Meic Stevens - ‘Yorric’
12. Magic Carpet - ‘The Dream’
13. Sweeney’s Men - ‘The Pipe on the Hob’
14. Tim Hart & Maddy Prior - ‘False Knight on the Road’
15. Dr Strangely Strange - ‘Dark-Haired Lady’
16. Albion Country Band - ‘I Was a Young Man’
17. COB - ‘Music of the Ages’
18. Roger Nicholson - ‘The Carman’s Whistle’
19. Bridget St John - ‘Fly High’
20. John Martyn - ‘She Moves Through the Fair’


1. Richard Thompson - ‘Roll over Vaughn Williams’
2. Steeleye Span - ‘The Lark in the Morning’
3. Unicorn - ‘Country Road’
4. Fairport Convention - ‘A Sailor’s Life’
5. Trees - ‘Glasgerion’
6. Fotheringay - ‘Gypsy Davey’
7. David Bowie - ‘Black Country Rock’
8. John Martyn - ‘Glistening Glyndebourne’
9. Mike Cooper - ‘Paper and Smoke’
10. Shelagh McDonald - ‘Mirage’
11. Spirogyra - ‘Disraeli’s Problem’
12. Mick Softley - ‘Time Machine’
13. Shirley Collins & The Albion Country Band - ‘Murder of Maria Marten’
14. Pentangle - ‘Jack Orion’
15. Incredible String Band - ‘Painted Chariot’
16. Nick Drake - ‘Voices’

More information / press enquiries

For all enquiries, please contact us. If you feature this story in your publication, blog or site, we'd really appreciate it if you could let us know.

Don't miss great Prescription stories and content

Get our press releases delivered to your inbox
Follow us on Twitter 
Follow us on Facebook
Subscribe via RSS
Get our free must-have tips and advice on music promotion
- Visit to find out more about our music PR and band promotion services.

More information

If you would like some more information about this release, or would like to contact us about interview opportunities / review copies, just contact us via our press enquiries form.

Subscribe to our press releases

You can click here to subscribe to our press releases - we'll send you a weekly digest of all our latest releases.