Album release: Clear Heart Full Eyes by Craig Finn
Label: Full Time Hobby
Release date: 23 January 2011

Craig Finn, frontman of the critically acclaimed group The Hold Steady, has confirmed the release of his debut solo album, Clear Heart Full Eyes, on Full-Time Hobby Records on 23 January 2011.

Earlier this year, Finn challenged himself to write a new song every day in his Brooklyn apartment. "I had written a bunch of songs that were outside of the norm for The Hold Steady, a little quieter and perhaps more narrative," says Finn. "I wanted to gain some experience and insight into the process of making a record by working with new people."
Finn travelled to Austin, Texas in July, removing himself from all familiar surroundings, to record the album with producer Mike McCarthy (Spoon, Trail of Dead). Of the album's title, Finn says, ”It's a juxtaposed reference to 'Friday Night Lights,' a TV show that excited and moved me and also happened in Texas. Further, 'Clear Heart' signifies honesty and transparency, and 'Full Eyes' suggests experience."

Finn's solo album features a variety of guests, including members of White Denim, Phosphorescent, The Heartless Bastards and Centro-matic.

2012 tour dates will be announced soon. The Clear Heart Full Eyes tracklist is as follows:

1) Apollo Bay
2) When No One’s Watching
3) No Future
4) New Friend Jesus
5) Jackson
6) Terrified Eyes
7) Western Pier
8) Honolulu Blues
9) Rented Room
10) Balcony
11) Not Much Left Of Us

'Making of' video

Craig has also posted a “making of” video about the record here:,66908/

Instore gig at Rough Trade East

Craig Finn play an intimate instore gig at Rough Trade East on Wed 25 January at 7pm in support of his debut solo album. For more information about this event please see the Rough Trade website.

More information / press enquiries

For all press enquiries, please contact us. If you feature this story in your publication, blog or site, we'd really appreciate it if you could let us know.

Don't miss great Prescription stories and content

More information

If you would like some more information about this release, or would like to contact us about interview opportunities / review copies, just contact us via our press enquiries form.

Subscribe to our press releases

You can click here to subscribe to our press releases - we'll send you a weekly digest of all our latest releases.